mESC-IS 2017

CommitteesSpeakers-PlenaryProgramAwardsVenue Events SponsorsParticipants
The 2nd International Symposium on Materials for Energy Storage and Conversion was held in Cappadocia, Dorukkaya Hotel, Ortahisar from 26-28 September 2017. The symposium followed the same approach as that in mESC-IS 2015, i.e. ample use of plenary sessions was made together with in-depth parallel sessions plus a poster session with formats maximizing interactions between the participants.
A total of three circulars were distributed for abstract submsiion starting from April 1st continued to June 16th 2017, later extended to September 4th. Abstracts were invited  i) SolidState Hydrogen Storage(SSHS), ii) Batteries and Supercapacitors and iii) Fuel Cells and Electrolysers. The spesific topics for which the invitations were issued were as follows;

Batteries & Supercapacitors

  • Li-ion batteries and beyond
  • All solid state batteries
  • Metal-air batteries
  • Batteries for grid scale energy storage
  • Batteries for off-grid energy storage
  • Capacitive energy storage system

Fuel Cells & Electrolysers

  • Advances in IT Solid Oxide Fuel Cells
  • Metal hydride coupled SOFC/SOE
  • Fuel cell catalysts and catalyst support
  • Electrolytes; oxygen ion, proton & mixed conductors
  • Novel processing in cell and stack materials

Solid state Hydrogen Storage

  • Metal hydrides for thermal energy storage
  • Synthesis of novel materials for SSHS
  • Computational modeling of processes in SSHS

he symposium followed a 3 day summer school taken place 23-25 Septmeber 2017 in the same premises as the symposium. The first day of the summer school was in Turkish, the subsequenbt two days were in English. mESC-IS 2017 was also the host for two events; EU7 ERAfrica HENERGY Project final year meeting and ENDAM workshop on Energy Materials and Storage devices.

The symposium comprised 23 plenaries and 36 oral presentations in parallel sessions. A total of 43 presentations were made in poster sessions scheduled for the evening of the second day of the symposium from 19:30 to 22:00 combined with a dinner. A total of 3 poster awards were presented on the closing session. The recipients were Aslihan Güler (Sakarya University), Neriman Sinan (Bursa Technical University) Serkan Sevinç( Gebze Technical University) – Burak Tekin (19 Mayıs University)